Bridging the gap between our tastes

Hello there!*
This is my first time posting so I thought I’d introduce myself a tad. My name is [name]Zooey[/name]. Yes, spelled like [name]Zooey[/name] Deschanel, and yes, pronounced the same way as [name]Zoe[/name]. (You have no idea how many times I’ve been called zoo-y). I’ve had a love hate relationship with my name over the years. I love that it’s quirky and matches my, at times, excessively sarcastic personality. On the other hand, it does seem childish to me at times, particularly with my spelling. My relationship with my name has made me acutely aware of naming and when my husband and I started talking about names, I knew we’d go for a less unusual name.

But as I said, parts of me do love my name so I wanted to find the right balance between classic and quirky. My husband is strictly a ‘classic’ namer, while my taste tends to lean towards vintage. Similar, yet different enough to cause a few fights. In the end, we selected a classic first and a vintage middle for both of our daughters, and I think we successfully achieved the balance I was looking for.*

We have a four year old and a three year old named [name]Eleanor[/name] [name]Violet[/name] and [name]Julia[/name] [name]Mabel[/name], respectively. They go by [name]Eleanor[/name] and [name]Julia[/name] the majority of the time, but we occasionally call them [name]Nell[/name] and [name]Jules[/name], more as pet-names than nicknames. We love their names and they fit them to a T.*

Now that we’re expecting our third (and final!), though, we seem to be having a tough time agreeing. The ‘next time’ argument falls flat when there won’t be a next time. He’s pushing for names like [name]Caroline[/name] and [name]Elizabeth[/name], while I prefer names like [name]Alice[/name] and [name]Beatrice[/name]. I know they’re not worlds apart style wise, but the gap sure seems big when neither of us will give in.*