Elegant name with cute nickname (Mollie)

[name_m]Hi[/name_m] Berries!

This is my first time posting on the forum - ever! - so I’m really looking forward to putting our name-crazy minds together. Thanks for any suggestions you can give me!

My husband and I are expecting our first baby, a girl (!!!), and we are just starting to put together a prospective name list. I love classic names like [name_f]Eleanor[/name_f] (our absolute favourite right now but we’re discouraged by how popular it and “[name_f]Ellie[/name_f]” are :frowning: ) and [name_f]Harriet[/name_f], and those a little “cooler” like [name_u]Finlay[/name_u] and [name_u]Harper[/name_u]. I think we will end up choosing a classic name that has a cute nick name. For example, [name_u]Rory[/name_u] for [name_f]Lorelei[/name_f], [name_f]Rosie[/name_f] for [name_f]Rosalie[/name_f] etc.

I love the nickname [name_f]Mollie[/name_f] but cannot think of anything besides [name_f]Margaret[/name_f] and [name_f]Mary[/name_f] as first names that would warrant [name_f]Mollie[/name_f]. I like [name_f]Margaret[/name_f] but my husband doesn’t. We would love to hear classic names that have nicknames like [name_f]Poppy[/name_f] or [name_u]Ruby[/name_u] too - and maybe a nickname for [name_f]Harriette[/name_f] that is not [name_f]Hattie[/name_f] or [name_f]Etta[/name_f]!

To give you a guideline, our last name is monosyllabic and starts with S. Thanks so much!

Have you considered [name_f]Amalia[/name_f]? It’s pronounced ah-[name_f]MOLL[/name_f]-ee-ah, and the nn [name_f]Mollie[/name_f] makes perfect sense for it, in my mind! I think [name_f]Amalia[/name_f] S[wan] (for example!) sounds very sweet and dignified. While I don’t adore [name_f]Amelia[/name_f], personally, I think [name_f]Amalia[/name_f]'s gorgeous, and [name_f]Mollie[/name_f]'s adorable for it. That’s really the only thing I can think of, besides the perennial [name_f]Mary[/name_f]/[name_f]Margaret[/name_f] (or even [name_f]Mary[/name_f]-[name_f]Margaret[/name_f]!).