How do you come up with plots?

I’ve been writing for five years and I’ve always had tons of issues with coming up with plots and sticking to them.
Something in me would rather just start writing with a general idea but that ALWAYS leads to me abandoning the book. I have so many drafts that it’s not funny anymore.
I also tend to come up with a lot more than I can handle and I get overwhelmed, or I just straight up lose interest.
So, how do you write plots and stick to them? Any and all advice is appreciated!

1 Like

I understand exactly. Literally all my book ideas except this current one have been abandoned, since age 9. So I can’t really help sorry!

2 Likes

That’s exactly the same with me! I’ve been trying to write a novel since like second grade, but I’ve never gotten far except for the one I’m working on right now! (and I got like 80 pages into a previous one last year, which I considered excellent at the time, but then lost interest)

2 Likes

It’s so frustrating! I’ve gotten around 120 pages before losing interest, mainly because my writing had improved a lot since the beginning and I didn’t want to rewrite half of the book haha

1 Like

I know, in my current novel, I’m rereading the beginning and it’s so bad! But I think that regardless of whether I abandon it or not, my writing will change over the course of the book so I may as well keep going and edit it out later!

1 Like

As much as any skill improves with practice, this does as well. I’ve been participating in NaNoWriMo since 2015, and I’ve reached the goal of 50,000 words every year, but 2019 was the first year that I actually finished a draft. Crazy! I’ve been writing since I was 7 but never finished a draft until last [name_u]November[/name_u] because I’d always have issues with the plot. Whether it was boredom, quality (or lack thereof, as it always was), or poor planning, I abandoned every draft—that’s about a 1000 paged novel! plus the drafts I wrote outside of NaNo.