Iole Juno Hope

Belatedly announcing the birth of my beautiful goddaughter [name]Iole[/name] [name]Juno[/name] [name]Hope[/name]. She arrived eight days late on February 28th at a few minutes after midnight.

You may have seen me other thread, I was given the honour of naming her by my best friend [name]Emily[/name], and her husband [name]Mike[/name]. They wanted a very uncommon name! After discarding [name]Amabel[/name], I intended to create a new thread with more ideas, but [name]Em[/name] and I decided we’d keep discussions between the three of us. Most of my suggestions (e.g. [name]Althea[/name], [name]Saffron[/name], ) were either too common or sounded too close to popular names. I was tearing my hair out, trying to find a name that would appeal to them and not unduly burden my goddaughter, so I looked to [name]Ovid[/name]'s Metamorphosis for inspiration. It’s one of my favourite books, [name]Em[/name] and I studied it in depth at university, and we both loved how [name]Ovid[/name] changed the story of [name]Iole[/name] to emphasise her cleverness, her wit, her determination. She’s not necessarily sympathetic, but she made us laugh. Additionally, [name]Iole[/name] means “violet.” [name]Em[/name] and I both have a grandmother named [name]Violet[/name], and E carried violets in her wedding bouquet. They were also the first flowers [name]Mike[/name] planted when they moved into their new home.