Is Harper the new Ashley?

My husband and I love the name [name]Harper[/name], and have for quite some time. I was so upset when [name]Victoria[/name] named her baby that and knew it would skyrocket, even though other celebs named their babies [name]Harper[/name] way before she did. Now, it’s climbing on the SS list like nobody’s business!! So, is this name going to become the [name]Ashley[/name] of the 21st century? Is it a mistake to name our baby [name]Harper[/name] if/when have a girl? The full name would be [name]Harper[/name] [name]Anneliese[/name] ([name]Anneliese[/name] after my mom and sister’s middle). I’m a teacher and know how annoying it is when you have 3 [name]Bella[/name]'s in your class. Is this how [name]Harper[/name] will be? [name]Do[/name] you think we should forget about the name or keep it on our list because we love it so much?? Any other suggestions for surnames or masculine names for a girl? Thanks for your opinions!

I definitely think it’s the new [name]Ashley[/name].
[name]Aubrey[/name] used to be, but it’s being beaten out by [name]Harper[/name] imo. I would not be surprised to see [name]Harper[/name] in the top 5 with in the next two years.

I don’t know the answer to the question, but I do wonder why in the US does the name that the [name]Beckham[/name]'s choose for their daughter have so much impact when soccer/football is not one of the mainstream sports?

I think you should go with what you love. [name]Harper[/name] is a beautiful name.

I have been noticing it getting more popular. I don’t know if it will be the next [name]Ashley[/name], but if popularity is a serious issue for you, then I would definitely nix it from off your list. There is the Icelandic female name, Harpa, which has the same meaning. Have you considered just plain [name]Harp[/name]? I think that would make a cool name. Other suggestions you might like:

Audeley
[name]Bellamy[/name]
Bracken
[name]Bronte[/name]
[name]Chandler[/name]
Darlington
[name]Dewey[/name]