Mary with a hyphen or no Mary?

We’re expecting a boy and a girl on [name_u]December[/name_u]. With all the difficulties this year has brought, I haven’t been in a very happy place to imagine names or get creative. I’m just beginning to sit down and imagine where to find names for our twins, and so far it’s not a success story.

I like the name [name_f]Mary[/name_f] but want to pair it with another name to give her something with more substance and presence. It’s not so much about lenght but [name_f]Mary[/name_f] on its own seems a little forgettable. Other names I like are [name_f]Cecilia[/name_f], [name_f]Larissa[/name_f], [name_f]Beatrice[/name_f] and [name_f]Virginia[/name_f]. All these names come from historic figures we admire and would like to be our daughter’s role models.

However, I guess I should also consider striking [name_f]Mary[/name_f] off the list, my thinking being that if its not good enough to be on its own then we shouldn’t use it for her, and then just use [name_f]Cecilia[/name_f], [name_f]Larissa[/name_f], [name_f]Beatrice[/name_f] or [name_f]Virginia[/name_f]. If so, which one do you like (if any, of course)?

For our son I have only found two names: [name_u]Chauncey[/name_u] and [name_m]Luther[/name_m], but that’s another story not suited for the girl baby names.

Thank you in advance.

1 Like