Roger or Alistair?

Hello everyone,

I am new to Nameberry and would love some honest advice please!

We are expecting our second son, due in [name_f]September[/name_f] and we have narrowed it down to two names; [name_m]Roger[/name_m] and [name_m]Alistair[/name_m].

Our son’s name is [name_m]Edmund[/name_m] and I love that his name is strong, yet gentle and that it’s old fashioned but not heard of too often.

I am seriously stuck. Ideally I’d like the name to be distinctive and distinguished. [name_f]My[/name_f] husband really likes [name_m]Roger[/name_m] and although I like it too I’m just not sure whether the reasons as to why [name_m]Roger[/name_m] is a distinctive name are positive reasons, if that makes sense?

I look forward to some advice please - it’s truly appreciated.

I really like the name [name_m]Alistair[/name_m]. I think it goes perfectly with [name_m]Edmund[/name_m]. :slight_smile: [name_m]Roger[/name_m] is also cute though and feels a bit more unique (at least where I am). [name_m]Alistair[/name_m] does feel a bit more “distinguished” to me.

Thank you so much for the feedback!

[name_f]May[/name_f] I please ask where you’re from? You did mention that [name_m]Roger[/name_m] sounds a bit more unique which does appeal to me about this name tbh :wink: I do like the fact that a young [name_m]Roger[/name_m] would be a name to stand out in a crowd these days but I don’t want him to stand out for the wrong reasons. Like, is it a bit too stodgy and middle aged sounding??

I definitely don’t want him to be one of many others with the same name and as far as I know, neither [name_m]Roger[/name_m] or [name_m]Alistair[/name_m] appear in the top 100 … which is why I am torn. I wonder which name would age better?

Like you, I also like the distinguished feel of [name_m]Alistair[/name_m]!

I’m from [name_u]Texas[/name_u] :slight_smile: