Should we go with the double barrel name?

So one of our top picks if our next baby is a girl is the double barrel name [name]Mary[/name] [name]Grace[/name]. I have no experience though with double barrel names and am not sure if it would really take. I asked my 8 year old daughter what she thought and she immediately said, “Oh, I thought we’d call her [name]Gracie[/name].” hmm…that’s what I was afraid of… I’m also am concerned that she’d end up just [name]Mary[/name]. I don’t think [name]Mary[/name] has enough spunk on it’s own and one of my son’s name is [name]Mark[/name]. I can imagine a [name]Mark[/name] and a [name]Mary[/name] [name]Grace[/name] in a house but not a [name]Mark[/name] and a [name]Mary[/name]. fyi…the other kids are [name]Paul[/name], [name]Clare[/name], [name]Katharine[/name] (nn [name]Kate[/name]/[name]Katie[/name]/[name]Kat[/name]) and [name]James[/name]. I had also thought we might call her [name]May[/name] as a nn but while different from [name]Mark[/name] [name]May[/name] sounds a lot like [name]Kate[/name] and [name]James[/name].

[name]How[/name] about hyphenating it to make it more obvious - [name]Mary[/name]-[name]Grace[/name]? [name]Love[/name] the nickname [name]May[/name], too. I think if you call her [name]Mary[/name]-[name]Grace[/name], she’ll always go by that.

I agree about the hyphen. I think that makes it more clear that it’s “[name]Mary[/name] [name]Grace[/name]” and not [name]Gracie[/name] nor [name]Mary[/name]. [name]May[/name] would be a really sweet nickname, too, though I see your point about the long A sound like in [name]Kate[/name] and [name]James[/name].
I’d be prepared, though, that even if you do go with [name]Mary[/name]-[name]Grace[/name] (or even just [name]Mary[/name], for example), there’ll always be someone who tries to shorten it.
[name]Mary[/name] [name]Grace[/name] is lovely, by the way!

i really hate double barreled names…they are just not classy or nice at all