Surnames and marriage

While I’m no where near marriage myself a recent wedding in my home town led to a conversation with my family on should women change their names when they get married (I only know one person who kept their lastname)

Currently I have no plans of changing my last name yes it might be [name_m]Smith[/name_m] but it’s my name, I would consider hyphenation but only if my name works at the start. I’m studying teaching and I like having a name all students can pronounce as well as one everyone can spell. Plus my mum regrets changing her name especially since her father passed away, so that plays a part to.
I also want to give my children hyphenated names which shouldn’t be a big ask since [name_m]Smith[/name_m] isn’t overly long.
My little sister and her best friend are both planning on changing, my sister since [name_m]Smith[/name_m] is too common and her friend because her last name is difficult to spell and pronounce.

So what has everyone else done or is planning to do? And how did you come to that decision?

I’ve thought about this sometimes and I don’t think I’d change my name. My problem with the tradition of a woman taking a man’s name isn’t so much that it happens as that they’re automatically expected to (where I live anyway). So my short answer is no, but I don’t know what would be done about any kids.

If the response to me wanting to keep my name was disapproving, the relationship would end because we’d obviously not see eye to eye on related issues.

All of this is hypothetical though as I doubt I’ll get married.

1 Like

I’m only 17, so marriage (if it happens) is a long way off for me, and I guess until I meet ‘the guy’ I can’t be 100% sure of what I’ll do.