The One

So, I am back with my masterlist of middle names that go with Athena. They have their own shortcomings, but if I had to choose one, it’d be from this list. It’s been getting incredibly difficult to think about names since I tend to get stuck at one point, and this is a topic I’ve been debating for the past two years.

Comparatively, I have little to no doubts regarding my boys list. I want to get this done now, so I get to say, “X is my favourite name, XZ is my favourite combo” without hesitating. Help me choose The One.

• Athena Emerald - “green gemstone” - Emeralds are one of my favourite gemstones – and now one of my favourite girl names too. I have tons of personal meaning with it, something rare for my girl names. Emeralds were a favourite gemstone of Cleopatra and are also given as offerings to Aphrodite & Lord Krishna. They are associated with the heart chakra and promote emotional healing and physical well-being in turn, as well as with the planet Mercury. Emeralds also symbolise fidelity, power, wealth, eternal love and royalty. Personally, I associate them with the Emerald Isle, the Emerald City of Oz, May’s gemstone and one other that I’d like to keep private. Needless to say, I do have a lot of associations with this name. She is gorgeous, she is that girl. I am only worried about how it sounds. I don’t want it to stick-out a lot, which would probably be my reasoning behind using names like Charlotte or Louise with it.

• Athena Esmeray - “dark moon” - I have been in love with this name ever since I first saw it. It is bewitching. I love it’s heavenly meaning, and it fulfills my wish for a celestial name. However, it’s Turkish, and I have no connections to Turkish culture whatsoever. For the same reasons as Emerald, it does seem unique but I’m willing to give it a pass.