What gender is this baby?

I just had my 24 weeks ultrasound but the doctor wanted to see the gender by looking underneath the baby (which is new to me) what gender do you guys see there? I would prefer seeing it using the standard way

1 Like

I’m not sure what you mean by “the standard way.” The only way I’ve ever seen a doctor do it is by looking in between their legs like in this picture. And it looks like a boy to me, but if you wanted to know the gender, why didn’t the doctor tell you what they saw?

3 Likes

Here it’s a pic of what I meant by standard way. He said he wasn’t sure and asked for another ultrasound (which will take a while for me) so that’s why I came here to ask you guys. It’s my first pregnancy I am not an expert

2 Likes

I haven’t ever seen them determine the sex in that standard way! I guess there’s different ways but I’m no expert.

I think the picture shows a boy!

3 Likes

I’ve had two boys and a girl and my guess would be boy! :blue_heart:

I think this example you’ve given is for a baby not as far along as 24 weeks. Girls don’t look like that at 24 weeks. That’s like maybe 10-15 weeks.
I believe they call it “nub theory”. At 24 weeks the sex should be pretty obvious unless the cord or something is in the way.

2 Likes

Yeah I’ve never seen a doctor try to determine sex from the side like that because their legs could be in the way and it’s not a straight on view of their genitals. The view from underneath between their legs (like what’s in your picture) is the most common and most accurate way. It definitely looks like a boy to me, but honestly it can be hard to tell. [name_f]Do[/name_f] you have any more ultrasounds planned for this pregnancy? If the doctor was unsure, they might be able to verify in another ultrasound.