Wwyd?

I’m a single woman in her mid-30s. I have no prospects for a relationship and at my age any pregnancy from here on out would be considered “geriatric.” :expressionless: :flushed: If I want to pursue motherhood I don’t have too many years left to make it happen so I’m having to consider pursuing being a single parent on purpose and going the route of IUI or IVF.

I suppose I’m looking for support/advice from people who have gone this route.

I’m a disabled vet so I have guaranteed monthly income, any dependents of mine can attend college for free in my state, and receive free health insurance so I don’t have any financial concerns. I think I’m scared of being the only parent 24/7 and not having any help or emotional support that comes with a partner. [name_f]My[/name_f] parents are in their 60s and live nearby and they take my brother’s four kids a lot so I know they’d be a help when I needed it.

I personally am not in this situation so I can’t speak from personal experience. But my OBGYN actually is a single mother by choice through IVF and has two daughters that way. She talks all the time about how it was the best decision of her life. If you want to have kids, I say go for it. It would be very sad to regret never being a mother if that’s important to you. Hopefully you can find someone who has actually done it to give a better firsthand experience, but from my perspective I’d say go for it. Especially since you have your parents for support and you have a brother with children who could also be supportive. The biggest thing I’d think would be emotional support more than anything.

1 Like

@Elle1 Has experience with this topic! She had her daughter a little less than a year ago, and I’m sure she’d be very helpful to chat with about it :blush: A while ago, I had some questions about donor conceived babies, and she was so helpful and kind!

3 Likes