2023 SSA Name Data Analysis

Here is my annual analysis of the SSA name data! I’ve been doing this since the 2019 data came out, but I still haven’t found a great way to organize it, so I’m sorry if this is long and dense!

*Note: All data is based on the top 1000 only. The percentages have total births (including beyond the top 1000) as the denominator but the numerator only includes names within the top 1000, so realistically most percentages would be slightly higher if names outside the top 1000 were taken into account.

In 2023, 7.23% of boys received names in the top 10, as did 6.54% of girls. Interestingly, this percentage has decreased for both sexes every year I’ve calculated it, but this year it actually rose for boys!

For girls, 6.12% received names ending in the -ley sound, and 2.84% received names ending in the -lyn sound (this includes names like [name_f]Madeline[/name_f], that could be pronounced -lyn or -line). These percentages have been steadily decreasing each year since I first calculated them 2020, suggesting this trend is past its peak.

While -ley sounds specifically are decreasing, the percentage of girls receiving a name ending in an “ee” sound has increased slightly, to 16.37%. Knowing how many nicknames also end in “ee” sounds, a higher percentage of kids on the average playground or classroom probably go by “ee” ending names.

For boys, -s endings are still growing in popularity. 6.60% of boys received names ending in the letter S, and the percentage rises to 8.66% if you include names that end in an ‘s’ sound but different letters, like [name_m]Chase[/name_m] or [name_m]Jace[/name_m]. This is higher than last year, which in turn was higher than in 2020.

5.06% of boys received names ending in L. This increases to 5.24% with names like [name_m]Cole[/name_m] and [name_m]Kyle[/name_m] included.