Apolena

Looking for general thoughts on this name (no children on the horizon).

Apolena is the Slovak variant of [name]Apollonia[/name]. I’ve loved [name]Apollonia[/name] for quite sometime, but I usually get very polarizing results. I believe this is due in part to strong associations that some have with the name (Purple [name]Rain[/name], [name]Apollonia[/name] 6, The Godfather). So, like a good name nerd, I went hunting for variations and found [name]Apolline[/name] (which has strong [name]Harry[/name] [name]Potter[/name] associations) and Apolena. I have some Slovak in my background in addition to Italian and would like to name future children names will pleasing to both side of my family.

1. [name]General[/name] reactions. [name]Even[/name] blunt ones. (I have some ideas and am curious if others seem what I see as a potential teasing issue or if I’m oversensitive)
  2. [name]How[/name] would you say it?
  3. What nicknames would you use? (I was think either [name]Polly[/name] or [name]Lena[/name])
  4. What middle name would use? (mainly why I’m on the fence about it, I don’t think any of my other favorites sound good with it)

Thank you!

1. I like the sound and [name]Apolline[/name] is a really pretty name. I’m not that keen on the Apolena spelling though. To me there’s something not right with it aesthetically.
  2. This is the part that gets me. With this spelling, I’m tempted to say ah-pol-AY-nuh when I want to say ah-pol-EEN-uh.
  3. [name]Love[/name] [name]Polly[/name] :slight_smile: [name]Apple[/name]? [name]Pol[/name]? [name]Ollie[/name]?
  4. Hmmm… anything containing the ‘een’ sound or ending in ‘a’ is out. Apolena [name]Eurydice[/name] would work but I think there’d be some pronunciation issues.
  1. Apolena. I love it. It has four of my five favorite name letters in it (weird, I know, sorry). It’s got a lovely sound. It’s a pretty name without being too flowery for my tastes, aka, it’s an A+ for me.