Elena or Eléna?

Hi all,

We’re expecting a little one, we aren’t sure of gender yet, but Elena is our top choice for a girl.

We want to use the Elena spelling and pronounce it Eh-LAY-Nah. Primarily that way anyway, but I have living relatives we will visit in Germany, so I know she will sometimes be called Eh-LEN-Nah which we’re fine. But it steers me away from the Elaina spelling.

Do you think just spell it Elena or with an accent over the second ‘e’ like Eléna? Will it make a difference or will people be confused regardless?

My husband is American and I’m Australian and that is where we live now, if that helps.

Thanks!

[name_f]Elena[/name_f] is lovely!
When I say [name_f]Elena[/name_f], I straightaway pronounced it in my head eh-LEE-nuh.
When I saw [name_f]Eléna[/name_f], I pronounced it eh-LAY-nuh; I am studying [name_u]French[/name_u], so I know how that accent works, but I think others would too even if they don’t know a language with é that makes that sound, I’m not 100% sure though. I think spelling it with the accent could help, but I don’t think it will completely take away the chance that someone will say eh-LEE-nuh or eh-LEN-uh. I’m also Australian.

1 Like

I’d spell it [name_f]Elena[/name_f] - the accent would actually cause me more hesitation over the pronunciation tbh. I’d assume it was Eh-lay-nuh as that’s what I’ve heard most often

1 Like

so in [name_u]French[/name_u], [name_f]Eléna[/name_f] would be pronounced eh-leh-NA, not eh-LAY-na. I knew two girls with the name in [name_u]France[/name_u] (one spelled [name_f]Elena[/name_f] and one spelled [name_f]Helena[/name_f], which is pronounced the same since the [name_u]French[/name_u] don’t pronounce the letter H). I don’t know if there’s a language where [name_f]Eléna[/name_f] would be pronounced eh-LAY-na but it’s not [name_u]French[/name_u]. é is pronounced “eh” in [name_u]French[/name_u].