Gale - help with deciding on this name please!

Both my husband and I love the name Gale for our baby boy. I know there are a lot of famous male Gale’s (and, yes, I know the Hunger Games connections but I’m an English Teacher and love literary names). My question is: do you think the feminine connotations make it unusable as a boy name? That’s my biggest concern with using Gale. Our plan would be to use a more masculine middle name (undecided still, but my father’s name is Andrew so that’s a possibility). What do you think of Gale?

Thanks in advance!
P.S. my husband isn’t worried about it at all, but I am a major overthinker!

2 Likes

I understand your reservation about [name_u]Gale[/name_u] having female associations. If I heard the name, I’d probably assume it was a female name, but if I met a little boy named [name_u]Gale[/name_u], I wouldn’t really think twice about it.

Maybe you’d like [name_u]Galen[/name_u]? It’s more distinctively male and you could still use [name_u]Gale[/name_u] as a nickname.

I love [name_u]Gale[/name_u], and think you should go with it.

It doesn’t feel too feminine to me, (one of the most “manly” men in my hometown was called Gale) and quite honestly gender-neutral names, nature names, and literary names are highly on trend now, so it’s a great time to name a boy [name_u]Gale[/name_u]!

[name_f]Hope[/name_f] this helps :yellow_heart:

PS [name_u]Gale[/name_u] [name_m]Andrew[/name_m] is so cute!

5 Likes

I would assume a [name_u]Gale[/name_u] was a boy. Especially if I knew it was a young child or newborn.
I would only assume female if it was someone older and then it would more likely be spelled [name_f]Gail[/name_f].

4 Likes

I much prefer [name_u]Gale[/name_u] for a boy. To me it’s very gender neutral, so I can’t see that being much of an issue, especially with so many famous male Gales.

3 Likes

[name_u]Gale[/name_u] feels breezy and cool for a boy :slight_smile:

3 Likes