Gobsmacked

So, after 10 years of infertility, charting, temperature taking, cervical mucus checking, laparoscopic surgery to increase my chances of conceiving, four rounds of IVF (resulting in two healthy children), our family was complete. Like, done done done done done. Dunzo. No more kids, thank you sir. My husband is a long-haul pilot, I’m a lawyer and we have a three and one year old. And we both turn 40 this year. I have spent the past 10 years either undergoing fertility treatment or pregnant or parenting a newborn/toddler while juggling a demanding career and being the default parent. Life is wonderful, but bordering on unmanageable and we are old and exhausted.

We took a weekend away last month to get a break from the kids and try to adult again. It was lovely. There may have been one incident of oopsie sex. But seriously, whatever, right? After approximately 1 billion sessions of deliberate, timed-to-perfection sex over a decade, we have had approximately zero positive pregnancy tests from natural means. Birth control is not on our list of issues we need to worry about.

One thing I am, though, is regular like clock-work. And so on [name_m]Saturday[/name_m], after being two or so days late, I took a pregnancy test to relieve my worry. You can probably see where this is going. I am that statistic. The one they warn you about. I am losing my freaking mind. I am trying so hard to be joyful, and I do recognize what a miracle this is and a blessing. But this was not the plan. I am frantically trying to rearrange my mental furniture to include a third child. I will have a four year-old, a two year-old and a newborn. I wouldn’t wish that on my worst enemy. And where exactly will I put such third child in our house? In our car? [name_m]How[/name_m] does one holiday with three children? [name_m]How[/name_m] does one afford three children?