hung up on the popularity of a name.

First I’d like to say I am fairly new to nameberry and love this website. It is very inspirational place to find advice and thoughts on baby names. I have been scouring it for a couple months now and will share my list for baby #2 to get some feedback once we know the gender.

[name]One[/name] thing that I find interesting is how hung up so many of the users get about the the “popularity” of their favorite baby name, to the point that they discard the name all together and won’t even consider using it, even if it’s a beautiful name. People refuse to use names in the top 1000, which seems crazy to me. Consider this, [name]Sophia[/name], ranked at #1 is only 1.13% of all the girls named in 2011 in the US, meaning theoretically you’ll have to meet almost 100 little girls born that year to meet 1 [name]Sophia[/name]. If you pick a name like [name]Hadley[/name] (one of my favorites) ranked at #178, you’ll have to meet 1000 little girls born that year to meat a [name]Hadley[/name].

Now I know this is all in theory, and different pockets of the country/ among your own friends there are names that can be way too popular and need to be passed by, but why look at a name that’s ranked on a magical list and rule it out just because you MIGHT meet another kid by the same name.
I personally, don’t know a single [name]Sophia[/name], or [name]Isabella[/name]!

All that being said, I also trend away from the top 100 mostly myself, because I don’t love a lot of them, and I have a VERY common last name. Pairing a very popular name with a very common last name is a little boring [name]IMO[/name], but if your last name is unique, a popular name may be just what you need to save your child some heartache growing up.

Maybe this turned into a rant, but I just hate seeing people pass on their favorite name because of popularity. We don’t live in the 20’s anymore where every other little girl was [name]Mary[/name].