Middle name Camillys?

We are expecting our sixth kiddo in [name]October[/name], a girl, and she will be named [name]Marigold[/name].

Camillus is a family name that I’ve been longing to use for the last 9 years, and since I’m getting older I figure the sixth kid is as good a time as any. :slight_smile:

Camillus will be pronounced Kuh-MILL-iss

My only issues are:

1. Camillus is a male name ([name]Saint[/name]) although in my family it was a nun who had that name, therefore it has female associations for us.
  2. I keep hesitating on spelling it Camillus or Camillys, to make it a bit more feminine.
  3. With an out of the ordinary first name like [name]Marigold[/name], I’m wondering if another out of the ordinary middle name is a bit too much (though in our families Camillus won’t seem anything BUT ordinary)
  4. While [name]Marigold[/name] doesn’t match my other girls’ names at all, it does slightly bother me that they have such pretty, feminine names, while [name]Marigold[/name] will have a masculine middle.

But I’m finding it difficult to let go of Camillus, because I have deep affections for that name and have wanted to use it for a long time.

Thoughts? Thanks!

To me, Camillys is EXTREMELY feminine! Girly, lovely, and perfect with [name]Marigold[/name] – my own #1 choice. :smiley:

Well, dang. I thought how awesome that you loved [name]Marigold[/name] too, and searched on here for the name to see if it was becoming too popular, and found a post commenting that the new upcoming NBC show has a girl in it named [name]Marigold[/name]. It premieres Sept, and I’m not due till Oct, so everyone will think I copied the dang show.

This bites. I’ve loved [name]Marigold[/name] since I was in the sixth grade! :frowning:

What are your thoughts?

I’m pleased that you think Camillys sounds/looks feminine. Makes me feel better about the name. :slight_smile:

I think Camyllis is 100% feminine and lovely. It would be perfect with [name]Marigold[/name], if you ask me!