Olivia?

Thoughts on the name :hugs:

how popular is it really? (Australia if anyone else from here)
has popularity taken its shine?

I think it’s popularity really depends on where you live. I don’t hear it much at all! If the name still shines for you, then I wouldn’t worry about its popularity!

1 Like

[name_f]Lovely[/name_f] name. Incredibly popular. I think as a mn it is gorgeous and much more unexpected than when it is used as a first name. As a teacher I can almost guarantee that nearly every class I teach will have an [name_f]Olivia[/name_f] in it :smile:

1 Like

I only know one [name_f]Olivia[/name_f], but I’m not Australian. I think it’s a lovely, traditional name.

1 Like

Yes I was wondering if it would be like that or even more in each class. Has been on top of lists for quite a while

I’m not in Australia, so I looked up [name_f]Olivia[/name_f]’s popularity just to get a sense, and it does seem like it’s very popular there rankings-wise. But popular names these days are never as popular as they used to be, percentage wise, because people choose such a greater variety of names. And [name_f]Olivia[/name_f] has the advantage of being a lovely classic, so it doesn’t feel trendy even though it’s definitely having a moment. Also, it doesn’t really sound like any other popular names; whereas for the [name_f]Evie[/name_f]/[name_u]Evelyn[/name_u]/[name_f]Eva[/name_f] set or the [name_f]Layla[/name_f]/[name_f]Lila[/name_f]/[name_f]Lola[/name_f] set, for instance, it all adds up. I don’t think [name_f]Olivia[/name_f] has lost its shine–I still think it’s a beautiful name. I just think it depends how bothered you would be by your daughter sharing her name with other little girls. I love the idea of [name_f]Olivia[/name_f] as an unexpected middle. There’s also [name_f]Livia[/name_f], which looks and sounds similar but has different history. Some other names that remind me of [name_f]Olivia[/name_f] but are a little less common:

Vivian
[name_f]Vivienne[/name_f]