Pansy?

Hey fellow berries!

My husband and I have been kicking around the name [name_f]Pansy[/name_f] for going on two months now but we are afraid of the teasing the name may bring. We are looking for a flower name or something along those lines. We feel [name_f]Rose[/name_f] is too common.

What do you all think of the name [name_f]Pansy[/name_f]? [name_f]Do[/name_f] you prefer any other flower names ?

Tansy or [name_f]Peonie[/name_f]? :full_moon_with_face:

2 Likes

Since [name_f]Pansy[/name_f] can sometimes be an insult, I prefer some other flower names.

Poppy
[name_f]Lily[/name_f]
[name_f]Lilac[/name_f]
[name_f]Violet[/name_f]
[name_f]Lavender[/name_f]
[name_f]Daisy[/name_f]
[name_f]Marigold[/name_f]
[name_f]Peony[/name_f]
[name_f]Primrose[/name_f]
[name_f]Magnolia[/name_f]
[name_f]Azalea[/name_f]
[name_f]Iona[/name_f]

5 Likes

Pansy is nice but it reminds me of pantry or pants

I believe [name_f]Pansy[/name_f] is considered a derogatory term for a gay person.

Posey or [name_f]Posie[/name_f] would probably be a better option in my opinion.

6 Likes

My first thought was how [name_f]Pansy[/name_f] can be used as an insult :/.

Peony is a good suggestion!

3 Likes

Posie would be a great choice! [name_f]Zinnia[/name_f] is another option.

2 Likes

Agree with pp suggesting [name_f]Tansy[/name_f] and [name_f]Posy[/name_f] as similar floral alternatives that don’t have the same teasing potential.

My other favorite botanical names:

Ivy
[name_f]Fern[/name_f]
[name_f]Lily[/name_f]
[name_f]Rosemary[/name_f]
[name_f]Azalea[/name_f]
[name_f]Marigold[/name_f]
[name_f]Zinnia[/name_f]
[name_f]Violet[/name_f]
[name_f]Iris[/name_f]

4 Likes

I love all the other flower suggestions. [name_f]Pansy[/name_f] isn’t my favorite. I do think of the insult and of [name_f]Pansy[/name_f] Parkinson from [name_u]Harry[/name_u] [name_m]Potter[/name_m]. The latter is no big deal but the term pansy as an insult would really bother me.