🌾 The bold, the brilliant, and the beautiful Yoruba names

Introduction

Yoruba names have had my attention for a long while. Not only do they have beautiful sounds, they have the most magnificent meanings. Of all the cultures I’ve looked into when creating my list of thousands of names, Yoruba names, in my opinion, have the most brilliant meanings. I’ve done research on their culture and their names and I’m excited to share them with you all! Please note that I am not Yoruba. I am by no means an expert, I just have a deep respect and interest in their history, so please do your own research if you are interested in learning more. The information in this post is extremely limited and doesn’t even scratch the surface of the beautiful Yoruba history. I really encourage you to go and learn more for yourself, especially if you are interested in their names.

All my sources will be linked at the bottom of this post.

Who are the Yoruba people?

They are an ethnic group that resides in Western Africa – most predominantly Nigeria, Benin, and Togo. There are approximately 40 million Yoruba people across Africa, most concentrated in Nigeria (specifically the south-west), where they make up 13.9% of the country’s population.

The Yoruba people are some of the most talented craftsmen of Africa, working in a variety of trades including weaving and ivory/wood carving. They have absolutely mastered many of their crafts, and in the 13th/14th century reached such technical excellence in lost-wax casting that has never since been reached in West Africa. In pre-colonial times, they had vast kingdoms ruled by an oba - a sacred king. The kingdoms began to decline in the 18th century, and they still survive today, but with nowhere near the political power they once had. The Yoruba language is incredibly extensive, with great literature, poetry, stories, myths, and proverbs.

Open for some pictures/maps!

Ori Olokun, Goddess of the sea. An important symbol in Yoruba heritage.