The Breastfeeding Thread

Calling all breastfeeding mums and mums-to-be!

I thought it would be nice to have our very own thread, dedicated to all things breastfeeding.

Whether you’re looking for general support and reassurance, have a specific question or problem you want advice on, or just want to chat with other mums who are in the same boat - this is the thread for you!

4 Likes

I’ll just do a quick introduction:

I’m 25, currently feeding my youngest (7mo), and I recently qualified as a BF Peer Supporter so I have a special interest in this area (though I’m not a medical professional!)

I’m mostly struggling at the moment with sleep - or rather, the lack of it! K is still feeding through the night and most settled when dozing on the breast - not the most conducive situation for a restful night’s sleep for me. It’s more comfort than nutrition at this stage, I think, but if I don’t feed him he wakes up fully. Tips on how to break the cycle gratefully received!

1 Like

A really good idea!

I’m Jools and I am 30 and I am currently breastfeeding my first child: my little girl Tabitha who is 7 and a half months. Tabitha really easily started breastfeeding when she was born and has been a good little eater but since I started introducing solids she has been really fussy and sometimes the only way to calm her down is to breastfeed - I have cooled it down a little on the solids sides and only introduce new foods once or twice or week and let her have her favourites and I will slowly start to introduce more overtime.

My one issue at the moment is that I am pregnant again and have hyperemesis gravidarum and have not been eating as much and even though I have been put on meds to help I still can’t keep a lot down and I am worried of it affect my milk supply.