What do you do with a horrible last name?

I’ve been obsessed with baby names ever since I was young, and because I’m a teacher, I’ve found that I have a somewhat limited list of names left that haven’t been ruined by that boy who tried to kill the other one in gym class, or the girl that wet her pants and/or cried every five minutes during the first 3 months of school.

I’m getting progressively more disappointed at my boyfriend’s last name. All of the names I’ve picked out and fallen in love with sound absolutely horrible with his slightly awkward sounding last name, and it’s killing me!

Has anyone else had to completely rewrite their love-list of baby names during a serious relationship or marriage?

I can help you if you tell me your boyfriend’s last name.

Haha sorry! The last name is Yaffe (pronounced YAH-fee, although some pronounce it YOH-fee). I understand it means “beautiful” in Hebrew, but I feel like no first names seem to work–call it preemptive concern!

[name]Imagine[/name] [name]Sophie[/name] Yaffe…oh no! I love boys names that are more similar to last names, and girls names (generally) that are unique without sounding over-the-top.

Names that normally would make me excited:
Girls:
[name]Vada[/name]/[name]Veda[/name], [name]Imogen[/name], [name]Sophie[/name], [name]Marley[/name], [name]Juliette[/name], [name]Calista[/name], [name]Presley[/name], [name]Charlotte[/name] (nickname [name]Charlie[/name])
Boys:
[name]Beck[/name], [name]Beckett[/name], [name]Wilkie[/name], [name]Brennan[/name], [name]Jackson[/name]

Thanks!

[quote=“mara”]Haha sorry! The last name is Yaffe (pronounced YAH-fee, although some pronounce it YOH-fee). I understand it means “beautiful” in Hebrew, but I feel like no first names seem to work–call it preemptive concern!

[name]Imagine[/name] [name]Sophie[/name] Yaffe…oh no! I love boys names that are more similar to last names, and girls names (generally) that are unique without sounding over-the-top.

Girls: