[glitch] freaking out, tbh

I was adding names to my master list earlier and suddenly the page went blank, saying “an unexpected error has occurred.” I refreshed the page, only to find that all of the girls names had been deleted from the list. :scream:

If it was one of my smaller, themed lists, this wouldn’t be such a big deal, but I’ve been building this longlist since I joined in 2012, and painstakingly copied it over when I switched accounts.

Has this happened to anyone else?? Were you able to fix it? What did you do that worked?

[name_u]Or[/name_u] is that half of my list gone forever? :sob:

1 Like

Oh that’s terrible! What a nightmare. [name_m]Hugh[/name_m] our engineer is on vacation but I’ll try to see if he has a magic hat he can pull them out of……

4 Likes

i’m so sorry! i keep all my names on google drive for this reason. it’s probably worth doing the same, so you always have them if this happens again. i hope you’re able to get them again ):

3 Likes

Thank you so, so much! I honestly cried a little.
I don’t want to bother him when he’s on vacation, but maybe he can look at it when he gets back?

I will absolutely be doing that, just in case. I’ve already been copying over the remaining names to a Google Keep list.

1 Like

Hi, @pam. I was wondering if Hugh has had any luck recovering the lost half of this list?

I hope you can get them back again, [name_u]Leo[/name_u]! Similar to what @venezio said, I keep my names in a Word file.

1 Like

@pam - Update! Today I had the same thing happen on a smaller scale. I was adding names to this list, when suddenly my page refreshed without my telling it to, and it gave me the same blank screen with the words, “An unexpected error has occurred.”

This time, my partner @tessallation was in the room when it happened. They are a software engineer and have volunteered to be the contact person if anyone on the development team needs more specific / technical feedback.