Sophie or Silvie?

Wondering what everyone prefers… [name]Sophie[/name] [name]Louise[/name] or [name]Silvie[/name] [name]Louise[/name]. My husband likes [name]Sophie[/name] but I am worried about it as it is so popular right now. I love both, but tend to lean towards [name]Silvie[/name] as it is less common. Also which spelling of [name]Silvie[/name]/[name]Sylvie[/name] is better? I do not really like [name]Silvia[/name] - it would be just [name]Silvie[/name]. [name]Louise[/name] is set as it is a family name.

I like [name]Sophie[/name] more, but I don’t like how popular it’s become.
I like [name]Silvana[/name] far more than [name]Silvie[/name]. And I prefer [name]Sylvie[/name] over [name]Silvie[/name].

I think [name]Silvie[/name] [name]Louise[/name] is wonderful!

I [name]Love[/name] [name]Sylvie[/name]! It’s on my girls list! Suits a young person and an older one! [name]Sophie[/name] is a great name, but I’m a teacher and hear it a lot - if you were after something that was less common!?

I love [name]Sophie[/name]; it was our first pick for our bub due next month, but when we realised how popular it is we decided (very sadly) not to use it. I have, however, lately been toying with the idea of [name]Josephine[/name] instead, using [name]Soph[/name] or [name]Sophie[/name] as a nn, as a way of ‘keeping’ the name but having the option to be [name]Jo[/name], [name]Josie[/name], Phee or [name]Josephine[/name] if she finds herself surrounded by other Sophies…just a thought.

Otherwise, to [name]Sylvie[/name] (sweet name) I would automatically assume the ‘y’ spelling and probably expect that it was a nn; short for [name]Sylvia[/name] or [name]Sylvana[/name], don’t know if that matters to you. I think the ‘i’ spelling makes it look more like a full name, but would probably get misspelt a lot by people like me assuming the ‘y’. So that’s a 50/50 vote on the spelling I guess!

What lrmum said : D.