The inherent value in uniqueness?

Why do so many nameberries think there is an inherent value in being unique? OK you don’t want your child to have the same name as three others in their class, but all of this “I won’t call my baby any name in the top 300”. I just don’t understand why so much importance is being placed in being different from one everyone else. (I secretly suspect these people are really conservative and naming their child is their big ‘creative’ outlet). That your name is reflective of a time and a place might actually be quite a beautiful thing - better than being called [name]Lazarus[/name] anyway!

For me, hearing a name too many times ruins something of its beauty. It doesn’t help that I’m a high-school teacher and form certain associations with many common names. I wouldn’t say that I ‘wouldn’t choose a name in the top 300’, but I would certainly be put off by a name that was heard so regularly that it became commonplace. I like names that have history and meaning, but still sound fresh.

I COMPLETELY agree. My name was ranked in the top 200 (though barely) the year I was born, and I’ve met a grand total of two other people who share it in my ENTIRE life, and the only reason I met those people is because I heard them being called by my name. I have a recognizable name, and I hear of people with my name, but I don’t meet many at all. A ranking of 150 or 200 is by no means popular. I hear people who refuse to use a name in the top 1000- it’s absolutely insane to me! It is SO much more important to have a name you love than one that’s uncommon.